Physical Exercises Everywhere

I and my bicycle ready to go….

Since 2008, I started to commit myself in my exercise program in a systematic way. In 2008, it was 3 times per week. In 2009, 2010, 2011; it was done by 3.5 , 4 and 4.5 times, respectively. In 2012, my plan is 5 times/week. While writing this article, it is day #215 of week 43. 100% achieved! In the program, it includes walking, jogging, running, swimming, cycling, gardening etc; anywhere and at anytime. I have done it while in Phnom Penh, or going to the provinces and even going to work and participating in workshops or conference outside the countries.

Sweating after jogging

When I am in Phnom Penh, I wake up at 4:45am and do my physical exercise program until 6:00 or 6:15am. If I could not do it in the morning, I tried to compensate in the late afternoon, especially during the weekend. When going to work in the provinces, I take my sport shoes with me and commit myself to walk and jog the way I could. While staying in hotel in foreign countries, I walk/jog in the hotel compound or in the park nearby or swim in the swimming pool. Being on our farm, together with my sons and daughter, I swim in our ponds using it as natural swimming pools.

Recently, I found that big airport like Sovarnabhumi in Bangkok, Thailand, is useful besides using it for connecting flights. I often use it as walking corridor for my physical exercise program if I do need to wait for the flight longer than one hour. Yesterday again, more than one hour fast walking from one wing to the other wings….back and forth. Amazing Thailand! I once also used the international airport in Adelaide, Australia; Charles de Gaulle, Paris; New Delhi and Mumbai, India; Noi Bai, Hanoi among others; for this exercise purposes. It is one way to kill time in a useful manner besides reading books; I take with me along the trips.

Jogging and sweating in front of the Chancellor Office, Berlin, Germany, June 2011

I used to walk and jog in the government’s park in Berlin, Germany; in Fitzroy garden, Melbourne, Australia; around the Thaing Loeung Lake in Hanoi, Vietnam; in the streets in Sydney and Singapore; along the Mekong River in Vientiane, Laos; along the Pattaya, Rayong and Hua Hin Beach in Thailand; in Canberra, Hobat city, Gordon Dam in Tasmania (at the south-est points of our planet); in Deniliquin in New South Wales etc. It is fresh feeling by doing this in different places around the world.

In 2012, I have bought a sport bicycle, which I like it very much. I cycle 4-5 times per week, across most of the streets in Phnom Penh, especially in my living areas, Tuol Kork. My daily standard program is 15km cycling for 45 minutes. It helps me a lot to stay healthy, fresh and strong. I rarely have any disease, which I do need to take medicines. In addition, I become more self-disciplined. I can only encourage other people, especially from older generations, to do so. It is much better than spending money on medicines and visiting health clinics. I have done comprehensive blood tests two times per year. Except, some (bad) bacterias in the stomach, everything is fine.

In my natural swimming pool in our farm in Battambang province

Leave a Reply

