Freedom Run 2013 in Manila, Philippines

Leaving hotel for the run

Leaving hotel for the run

In the occasion of the 20th CALD Anniversary (Council of Asian Liberals and Democrats), Freedom run was organized by FNF Philippines Office, with the contribution of local councils and private companies. It is a third freedom run, which has been organized annually since 2011. I was excited already, when I got the information that I will be invited to participate in the conference and the regional meeting right after. It means that I will be from 08.-15.11.2013 in Manila. The freedom run was organized on Sunday 10, November 2013.

My jacket

My jacket

Since I have practiced my physical programme since 2008, I used to walk, jog, run, swim, cycle etc. I decided to join the 10K at freedom run, though I have never done it before. What I have done so far was between 3-7K. But, I decided to put the goal higher, if I could not achieve, it could be also an experience for me as well. I could drop out anywhere, anytime.

I have done more than 10K-very happy

I have done more than 10K-very happy

We were told to wake up earlier and our bus left the hotel at 4am. We arrived at the scenes short before 5am. Many people already arrived. We have made photos, done warming up, listened to music and short speeches about freedom run events. At about 6am, the shot was fired in the air, and the run started. We left the park and run along the avenue, which is kept free for us by volunteers and police officials. Though, we have free lanes, but the smell of gasoline smokes from vehicles next to our routs, disturbs us quite a bit. From our group of about forty people, only two of us made the 10K. Others just do the 3K. In total, about 4,000 people joined the freedom run. Five female and five male runners will be awarded in each category, 3 and 10K.

Participants in the freedom run 2013

Participants in the freedom run 2013

My impression from the run (jogging):

  • It was my first ever non-stop long distance running, though a bit tired, but I went through without pause
  • The atmosphere is joyful and with lots of fun
  • The motto of the program: i am free: from corruption
  • It is political education through running program
  • Involvement of local government, private sectors and young people
Leave a Reply

